60 Days

I was sure that if I posted a blog, it was real.  I had committed and I was going to see this thing through. While I did not hit the mark for 60 minutes for 60 days, I did learn some very interesting things.

I learned how  sit in my own space.  I learned to be still and feel my body. I have not done that in a very long time. Maybe not since I was a child. There was some point in my young life that I became aware that my body was powerful and that the power was not good. That power did not fit with the life plans that were available to me. I disconnected from my body in an effort to be small and acceptable. Glennon describes the feelings and process of this in Love Warrior exquisitely.

I am taking back my body. My body is a strong vibration that in its current form allows me to move effortlessly through this existence. I honor my body, this body, that has brought two beautiful eternal beings of love into my life. I honor this body that works hard and loves harder. I can sit in my body. I can feel my body. I am not only my body. I am not defined by what others see or think or feel about my body. My body is part of me not all of me.

I have also learned some other things during this yoga experience and awakening.

I like the way yoga makes me feel. I like the calmness that breathing and stretching bring. I like the sensation of moving into the stretch and the deepening that comes as you breath into it. I like the humming I feel in my body when I settle in and get into bed for the night. The pleasant glow of muscles in motion radiating through me.

The final thing I will share that I learned is that I want more. I want to stretch more. I want to be strong and execute flawless inversions and be strong and execute flawless stillness. I want to feel the hum throughout the day. I want to be proud and strong in my body. I want to and am currently working on cultivating the warrior within. The warrior I am deep inside that wants to move and grow in strength so that I can be at peace with all sides of myself.

For these reasons and a few more I am thankful for this journey. I am not yet to the 60th day. Today felt like the day to close it out here. This yoga journey has only just begun.

Onward!

Leave a Reply

